Sleep deprivation can cause one to become a bit cranky….

Last week was a fly by the seat of your pants kind of week. Midnight arrival in Washington state followed by a flurry of activities in a different time zone. Think midnight there equals 2 a.m. in the home zone. Another midnight arrival back in SD followed by a 3:30 a.m. wake up to drive hubby to the airport at 4. Apparently Uber is a bit of a diva and is not available at that time of day. At any rate, I resemble Oscar the grouch the past couple of days. Snappy as a rubber band as it is released.

This is my way of warning everyone of possible thunderstorms ahead. haha. I must have had that impatient vibe coming off in waves as people at the grocery store must have determined granny had a broom stuck up her butt and gave me wide berth. Perhaps my sunny smile looked more like gas pains today…unclear, no one to ask.

I had my massage earlier today and after being bent and nudged, poked and prodded, I have more joint soreness than I think I possibly have joints. I think I have new muscle groups that are reacting today to the attempt to release some stress residing there. Thinking that perhaps a cement block might twang off some of them akin to a bouncer on a trampoline.

I wrestled said groceries into the car. Wangled Lisa’s walker into the trunk and headed home. As I was looking for space in the world’s smallest refrigerator compartment, I discovered some of my fresh vegies were now frozen. Too many left overs still resided on the shelf from when we were gone and they were given a burial at sea. ( I ran water as I tossed them with abandon into the garbage bin.)

My skin feels tight, which would be ok if it were. I can count the pleats at the corners of my eyes and mouth. When I roll my eyes, I hear a click which is a bit disconcerting…..maybe I am in the process of losing my marbles and I am hearing them rolling around in there.

Dinner with a friend tonight. Yay. Had dinner with a friend last night as well. It is comforting to spend time with people that you can just be you. We ate, giggled, then ate some more. No grocery shopping last night, as my battery was near empty. Today it is above the E so I plan to nap this p.m. before dinner. I am hoping to get some quality sleep tonight.

Rest of the week is a flurry of appointments and tasks to be completed and then the weekend will arrive and hopefully some down time. I spent the 25 minutes prior to this on the computer pre-registering for 3 doctor appointments next week in the same health system. Hmm. Same #$%$#@ questions over and over. It doesn’t store them even when you input them 30 seconds prior as different offices but all have the same demographic data. We have done 3 appointments same day in the same building and had to pre-register all three (sigh) and had to show insurance cards 3 times for appointments all in the same three hour time block.

Inefficiency drives me crazy. Short drive you say? You could be correct. At any rate, I am working the psychological kinks out pounding away on the computer, exercising my mind and digits at the same time. I am efficient that way.

My bed is calling to me and I am ready to unfold the origami shape I am currently bent into and and lie down on the heating pad. I have been ignoring it for a few minutes, but am heeding its call soon. Dishwasher is running, laundry folded, brain is shutting down.

Remember when you have a day like this, that not all days are like this. Sometimes during the rat race, the rats take a nap. Pass the cheese, this little mouse is going to catch a few zzzz’s. Sit in nature, take a nap, soak in the tub, read, or do whatever it is you need to do to re-center and settle yourself. It is worth taking a break to do so. You will return to it invigorated, focused, and happier. Breathe in. Breathe out. Be still and focus on breathing. Listen to your body. It knows you well.

Safe travels on your journey wherever it takes you. Blessings for peace and healing grace.

Leave a comment